Trailer of the Month

Saturday, December 29, 2012

Top 5 Classic Movies to See

After doing my Christmas list, I had to do my all time favorite classics!

5.The Maltese Falcon - In University I was forced to read the book and watch the movie. I was glad I did. The book was perfectly written and the movie was superb! A private detective takes on a case that involves him with three eccentric criminals, a gorgeous liar, and their quest for a priceless statuette. Stars Humphrey Bogart, Mary Astor and Gladys George

4. Gone With the Wind - Okay, so I am not one for the mushie stuff. I mean sure I write romance but most of the movies out there that are called Romance are just blah - but this movie I first saw it when I was about  15 and ADORED it. American classic in which a manipulative woman and a roguish man carry on a turbulent love affair in the American south during the Civil War and Reconstruction. Stars Clark Gable, Vivien Leigh and Thomas Mitchell

3. The Gold rush - Charlie Chaplin aka The Tramp goes the Klondike in search of gold and finds it and more.  I sat at home watching this movie with my mother the other day. It's a silent move from about 1925 and I laughed so hard my sides hurt. This movie is hilarious. And oh, if someone says "I'm so hungry I could eat my shoe" this movie is where it came from lol.

2. Casablanca - Of course this movie would make this list. Set in unoccupied Africa during the early days of World War II: An American expatriate meets a former lover, with unforeseen complications. Stars Humphrey Bogart, Ingrid Bergman and Paul Henreid.

1. Citizen Kane - This movie is my all time favorite movie ever! Why? This masterpiece is in black and white, made in the 1940's and it was made it was surprisingly clever! Following the death of a publishing tycoon, news reporters scramble to discover the meaning of his final utterance - "Rosebud!" Citizen Kane stars Orson Welles, Joseph Cotten and Dorothy Comingore.

Thursday, December 27, 2012

The Best Christmas Movies

So no this is now a review. I just thought I'd count down the top ten of my FAVORITE Christmas movies! There are some classics that didn't make the list because I was only counding down from 10 so enjoy!

10. Christmas In Canaan - DJ and Rodney don't like each other from the start. Rodney thinks DJ is an ignorant white farm boy, and DJ thinks Rodney acts too smart for his own good. After a school bus scuffle between the two, DJ's father and Rodney's grandmother come up with a clever solution that brings the boys closer than either of them would like. Living in Canaan, Texas in the 1960's does not make it easy for a black boy and a white boy to forge a friendship. It is only amid the magic of an unforgettable Christmas that DJ and Rodney discover a land of milk and honey where hope and love make all the difference.

9. White Christmas (1954) -  successful song-and-dance team become romantically involved with a sister act and team up to save the failing Vermont inn of their former commanding general.
8. It's a Wonderful Life (1946) - An angel helps a compassionate but despairingly frustrated businessman by showing what life would have been like if he never existed.

7. Home Alone 3 - Alex Pruitt, a young boy of nine living in Chicago, fend off thieves who seek a top-secret chip in his toy car to support a North Korean terrorist organization's next deed.

6. Sound of Music - A woman leaves an Austrian convent to become a governess to the children of a Naval officer widower.

6. A Christmas Story - Ralphie has to convince his parents, teachers, and Santa that a Red Ryder B.B. gun really is the perfect gift for the 1940s.

5. Trading Places - A snobbish investor and a wily street con artist find their positions reversed as part of a bet by two callous millionaires.

4. Make the Yultide Gay - (GLBT) - Olaf "Gunn" Gunnunderson, an out-and-proud gay college student, crawls back into the closet to survive the holidays with his family. He keeps his cool as his quirky Midwestern-hearted parents try to set him up with his high school sweetheart, Abby. But when his boyfriend, Nathan, shows up at their doorstep unannounced, Gunn must put on a charade to keep the relationship a secret. With pressure mounting from all sides, will Gunn come out before the truth does?

3. How the Grinch Stole Christmas - (with Jim Carey) - The Grinch, a bitter, grouchy, cave-dwelling creature with a heart "two sizes too small," lives on snowy Mount Crumpit, a steep, 3,000-foot (910 m) high mountain just north of Whoville, home of the merry and warm-hearted Whos. His only companion is his faithful dog, Max. From his perch high atop Mount Crumpit, the Grinch can hear the noisy Christmas festivities that take place in Whoville. Annoyed and unable to understand the Whos' happiness, he makes plans to descend on the town and deprive them of their Christmas presents, Roast Beast, Who-hash and decorations and thus "prevent Christmas from coming. - From Wikipedia

2. Home Alone 1 - An 8-year-old boy, who is accidentally left behind while his family flies to France for Christmas, has to defend his home against idiotic burglars.

1. A Christmas Carol (1984) - An old miser who makes excuses for his uncaring nature learns real compassion when 3 ghosts visit him on Christmas Eve.

Tuesday, December 25, 2012

Merry Christmas!

Hello everyone!

From Kato's Totally Biased Movie Reviews, I'd like to say have a Merry Christmas and we wish for you a happy, safe and prosperous New Year!

Be safe this season.
No drinking and driving!
And take the family to a movie!


Saturday, December 22, 2012

Christmas Comes Home to Canaan

Starring: Billy Ray Cyrus, Gina Holden, Emily Tennannt, Matt Ward, Jacob Blair, Liam James

In the story, Daniel's son Bobber needs extensive orthopedic surgery and months of intensive physical therapy to recover from being struck down by an automobile. Rodney Freeman, the young black man who Daniel took into his home and raised as another son, has become a famous writer and offers to fly Daniel and Bobber to San Francisco and to pay for the surgery. Once in San Francisco, Daniel meets and falls for Briony Adair, a physical rehabilitation specialist who will be working toward Bobber's recovery. When therapy progresses slowly, Bobber invites Briony to come home to Canaan to spend Christmas with the Burtons and continue his treatment. Briony is a natural at caring for a thriving family, but Sarah, Daniel's daughter distances herself not wanting to dishonor her late mother's memory, and a disastrous Christmas visit drives Daniel and Briony apart. In the soul searching that follows, Daniel finds the strength to open his heart again and invite love back into his life.

It amazes me just how talented Billy Ray Cyrus is. I watched every episode of DOC because of him just to see what else he could do and every movie or TV show he popped into over the year I paid close attention.  In this movie, Christmas Comes Home to Canaan I didn't expect him to be able to carry off the character Burton, a father trying to raise his three kids and one 'adopted' child in a racist small town after the death of his wife. But once again, Billy surprised me. Though this movie seemed relatively low budget, it focuses on family and what family truly is. 

While this movie could have used some work, there is just something about it that left me feeling fulfilled and ready for Christmas. 

Thursday, December 20, 2012

Make the Yuletide Gay

Starring: Adamo Ruggiero, Hallee Hirsch, Keith Jordan

Make the Yuletide Gay is a 2009 American romantic comedy film about a gay college student who is out at school, but is afraid to reveal his sexual orientation to his parents. 

Rob Williams is a genius! This movie was so funny I laughed so much by the end I had a migraine!  It was just what I needed to beat my Christmas blahs. After being bombarded by the same, old, boring movies about Christmas on tv, it was great to finally watch one that had nothing to do with angels, or Santa, or bells, or evil corporations being taken down after the lead male got the Christmas spirit and grows a conscience. 

I have to admit I went into this movie not knowing Adamo Ruggiero (From Degrassi) was in it and was VERY surprised to see him. He plays Nathan, boyfriend to Keith Jordan's character Olaf "Gun" Gununderson. The two are desperately in love and while they hold hands and make out in public at school, at home Gun is a different person. At home, he tries so hard to be straight. He even changed the way he dresses, from elegantly, to bum-ie to keep up the charade.

Nathan, well, while his parents know, they are trying desperately not to acknowledge it. The treat Nathan like he's a stranger and is always going off on one trip or another. The last straw comes when they ditched him for a cruise rather than spending Christmas with him. 

I love this  movie.

While this movie was hilarious and brilliant and stellar - I couldn't help thinking of the boys and girls out there who are scared to come out to their parents. It is never easy and if you want a little help or advice, check out the It Gets Better  campaign or the Trevor Project.  Because no one should have to go through these things alone. 

Oh and this movie has a happy ending so it's right up the alley for Christmas!

Monday, December 17, 2012

Gossip Girl -Series Finale

Privileged teenagers attend an elite private school in New York City. Based on Alloy Entertainment's book series.

Before this year, I never wanted to watch this show. I mean come on, another tv show about kids with too much money on their hands and no idea what to do with it all. I have enough crap in my life and I didn't need to watch theirs every week.

But here in Canada it's hard because most of the time TV is the most boring thing around especially when their's a storm outside and the meteorologists are saying we should try staying inside. So I turned to MUCHMUSIC and there it was. A whole day of GOSSIP GIRL on with nothing else on the other tons of station we pay for that are completely useless.  So, I grabbed a chocolate bar and started in on it. I realized this show had Josh Scwartz, the guy who gave us THE OC so I was like....this has to be epic!!

When the day was over I was a season through the series and was intrigued. Then I started catching up at friend's place through their DVD and eventually I was completely caught up. 

So I am enjoying it. I especially loved me some Chuck Bass and the nerd of course I had to root for the nerd. But this show had the potential going out in style! I was pumped for the final episode. Everyone was so tight lipped about it that I was thinking "omg! This is going to be off the CHAIN!"

Then I sat there watching it. I noticed I began watching the clock thinking "It's 24 minutes in and  I'm not impressed." To me, it was like the writers realized it was their final rodeo and just gave up. Sure, it was pretty someone ended up dead, Gossip girl was revealed and the fashion was amazing but everything else was disappointing. The story just stopped and then they go 5 years in and everything was just like it was before - them getting everything they wanted. I was so let down by this ending. I expected more. More drama, more betrayal, more...more...MORE. I know they were trying to tie it all up in a nice little bow but they failed and they did so miserably.  With the whole build up to the series finale, I wanted more fireworks and more writing but I just didn't get it.

And then the true end came with the wealthy kids standing around and some outsider guy walking buy with the wealthy kids giving him dirty looks. 

With that ending I couldn't help thinking - "dear god! Haven't we suffered enough?"

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Arizona Sky (LGBT)

**Note: Movie is LGBT Themed**
Starring: Eric Dean, Jayme McCabe, Patricia Place, Evan Cuthbert, Brent King, Emerson SMith, Bernadette Murray

As teenagers, Jake (Eric Dean) and Kyle (Jayme McCabe) were best friends who crossed that line in the realm of lovers. But they lived in a small town, cowboy country, so their fear of what would happen if they made it public drove a kind of invisible wall between them. Then Jake's father got a new job and moves Jake away, leaving Kyle behind. Though they promised to keep in touch, life gets in the way; from Jake's rise in the film industry to Kyle's absent father and ailing mother. Years later, burnt out and having panic attacks, Jake runs home with his new best friend, a straight womanizer. Once again, Kyle and Jake is pressed together, sparks are still there and Kyle must now come to terms with who and what he is or lose Jake again.

This movie started out a little slow. I think there was way too much dialogue. But there is a great movie beneath it all. Jake's life in the big city is one of too much work, heart pains and a best friend who carries a different woman home every night. I felt Jake's angst, his anger at what his life has become. I felt as though he was trapped in this lifestyle, the movies and the work, with no way to save himself.

Jayme is a good kind--a true cowboy down to helping out the townspeople and his beloved aunt (Patricia Place). Though he doesn't recognize Jake when he first sees him the moment he realises who Jake was the sparks came flying back. We find out all the hurt and trials he's had to face alone over the years with the passing of his mother, his dead beat father showing up at her funeral, all her medical bills, having to sell the family house and still be in debt, plus fighting his attraction to men. You feel his pain and his utter confusion and the war waging inside him.

Though the dialogues got a little long at times I couldn't help feeling something for these characters.

My issue, my main issue, with ARIZONA SKY  is that it had no in betweens. I guess what I'm saying was it would have been better if it had a few town's people, show a bar scene, maybe show a memory or two but this movie was a small production so it can be overlooked.

All in all this movie is enjoyable. I would definitely recommend it. My only warning is go into it with an open mind and you will definitely enjoy it.

Saturday, November 17, 2012

Cinder Fella - Toderick Hall **LGBT Content**

Starring: Toderick Hall, Janice Dickenson, Janice Dickinson, Shangela and Willam from "Rupaul's Drag Race," Lance Bass and Daniel Franzese.

"Do you ever feel, like a crusty mess?"

This isn't really a movie, movie persay but I watched it and laughed untilI cried. CINDERFELLA is a short film spoofing Cinderalla. With characters such as Prince Charming, Pinnochio, Aladin, Jasmine and others, this short film was a delight. They used did spoofs off songs such as Fire Works by Katie Perry, "I Kissed a Girl, I've Been Every Where by Rihana, Tun up the Music by Chris Brown and remix them with classic Cinderella musical songs and you get a wise, funny, elegant short film.

With Toderick Hall playing Cinderfella, Janice Dickenson as the Evil Step Mother, the music was on point and all around high spirited. The fairy god mother was hilarious! She had me laughing so hard my sides hurt. The comedy was spot on and who knew Janice Dickenson could act? Lance Bass wasn't in there for much of the movie but he didn't need to be to be memorable. Toderick Hall is an American Idol Alum and I had almost forgotten just how good this kidw as.

But all joking aside, this short film is one more notch in the LGBT communities hat in a step toward educating the public and making LGBT marriage and equal right fights a little bit easier. This film is a positive thing in the battle but they didn't beat you over the head with it.

Watch this short film. It'll only take about ten minutes of your time and you won't regret it. The comedy alone will have you watching more than once.

"Do you ever feel, like a toilet bowl. That fat man came and sat on you and flushed your soul!"

Monday, November 12, 2012


**Note: This movie is LGBT** 

Starring: Eric Schweig, Tim DeKay, Louise Fletcher, George Coe, Arye Gross. Oneal Compton
Henry Hart (Arye Gross) is a big city artist. He has his first opening in a gallery and his assistant/manager (which makes no sense but they didn't explain what she is to him) but she seems to be his best friend in the city. He is having a bad go of it because he works too much. The stress of the opening, no fun and his grand father's stroke. This sends him spiralling and running back to the Big Eden, the small, seaside, moutain town he was brought up in by his grand parents.  There he is plunged back into an old relationship that is quite unhealthy and a budding attraction to him by the quite, unassuming, Pike (Eric Schweig).
How do I review this movie without giving it away??
So this movie, had me up way past my bedtime watching. And when it was finished, I couldn't stop thinking about it. It's a romantic comedy that just rings true. The love story was unbelievable and the toxicity of the relationship between Henry and his teenager love, Dean (Tim DeKay) was so raw. Dean was married-to a woman- with two boys but still Henry, after years of therapy to get over him, pines and hopes for something more with Dean. It broke my heart when Henry takes a chance and kisses Dean and Dean just completely breaks down. When Henry finally realizes what's happening with Dean--it was like the earth shattered beneath him and I felt it.
Then there's Pike - the lovable Native who is so in love with Henry that each time he sees Henry he gets sweaty, silent and just frustrated with himself. He secretly helps Henry by bringing food from the local gossip for Sam (George Coe) who had a stroke. But Pike has a secret that is so sweet and so endearing it just shows you just how in love he is. His friend, Jim (Oneal Compton) has is back and dears to breach the subject of homosexuality in his own, cute, round-about way. Before this movie I didn't know who Eric Schweig was but he is such an amazing talent. I would really love to see him in more stuff.
Then add the townsfolk--the men who rally around Pike to push for his happiness. They added such authenticity to this movie. Half they time they had be either laughing till it hurt or crying. The town's gossip who always seem to be trying to match-make the young people of the town and Grace (Louis Fletcher) just made for a superb movie.
big EDEN is such a splendid movie. It shows that love can happen whenever and where ever. It also taught that love is love no matter who its between - be it two men or a man or a woman or two women. This movie was a welcoming breath of fresh air and I enjoyed it thoroughly.
And yes...if you're into LGBT movies definitely see this one.

Wednesday, November 7, 2012

Making Love (LGBT)

Starring: Michael Ontkean, Kate Jackson, Harry Hamlin, Terry Kuiser, Wendy Hiller, Arthur Hill, Nancy Olson, John Dukakis

**warning: This movie is about a Gay love triangle.**
**Small spoilers**

Blurb: It tells the story of a married man coming to terms with his homosexuality and the love triangle that develops around him, his wife and another man. It stars Kate Jackson,

MAKING LOVE is the kind of movie I wouldn't have watched if I'd seen the commercial on television. It's a rather old one--from about the 1980's. The graphics were bad but I guess it's because it is a rather old movie. Anyways, moving along. The idea from the story is fresh and speaks to today's age where the LGBT community is fighting for positive recognition and equal rights. The movie follows Zach (Michael Ontkean) who is a successful and brilliant doctor, married (his wife played by Kate Jackson) to Claire, a successful television exec. They just bought a house and is planning on having a son so they could name him Rupert, after the poet. But things start rapidly going sideways when Zach starts giving into his feelings for other men. It started out by watching a gay couple on a motor bike beside his car down to the night he almost took home a male prostitute.

Then he meets Bart (Harry Hamlin) a playboy writer who lives an almost hedonistic lifestyle. They hook up and Zach wants more than one night but Bart is not having it.

The story spirals out of control beautifully, for Zach has to tell his wife and try and deal with these new feelings and coming of age as a gay man.

The story was wonderfully penned with a lot of secondary characters to make the story believable. From the gay playboys to an old woman who regiles the Zach and his wife of stories of love and intrigue and magic from her younger years. The story was told in such a way that left me, as a writer, so enthralled and pulled in, when it ended I was out of breath.

Amazing movie, way ahead of its time. If you would like a great movie with some substance then watch this movie. The only down side is, and it's not a very big one, though the movie is told by two narrators, Claire and Bart, we don't see what happens to Bart in the end. I really wish they'd showed us how his life grew or fell apart from pushing away Zach's love.

Sunday, November 4, 2012



A CIA agent goes on the run after a defector accuses her of being a Russian spy.

That's basically it in a nutshell. The first time I saw the trailer for this movie I than WANTED and GIA I wasn't/isn't a big Angelina Jolie fan. I'm not sure what it is about her as an actress. As a humanitarian and all around good person (from what we can see) I am a big fan. Anyways, this movie was a little, I don't know...slow for me. At times I'm watching it and biting my nails to see what's going to happen next. And just when I'm sitting on the edge of my seat. Then just when I'm leaning in to see the big reveal, WHAM! It slows down and drags for 5-10 minutes.

The action sequences in this movie are manic and come with in your face kick-butt-atude. But, yes my friends, there is a but, some of them made me sit back and scratch my head. Where these scenes are supposed to be amazing and just have you screaming in enjoyment, some of them made me wonder simply...why? One scene had her jumping from moving vehicle to moving vehicle just went on for way too long and lost all sense of importance to the movie.

The final reveal was amazing and even I don't see that coming. That was one of the finer points to this movie. But the ending left me empty. It didn't tie up the whole movie like an ending should and I know they are not planning a part 2 so what gives?

I do however have to mention Liev Schreiber is in this movie and he's his usual creepy self. While I adore Liev, I didn't completely enjoy his prescence but it was better than most of his other ones.

This movie isn't a complete wash. It is watchable and can be enjoyed.

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

World Without End (TV Show- Showcase TV)


Ken Follett Novel comes to life

The English town of Kingsbridge works to survive as the King leads the nation into the Hundred Years' War with France while Europe deals with the outbreak of the Black Death.

I thought I would write a review for the season finale but that wouldn't make sense without some background.  This is a period piece, so if you're not into that kind of stuff then you probably won't like it. But I went into this for the love story and wound up getting caught up in the war and betrayals and the sadness of it all. There are three love stories in this series, two heterosexual love stories and one homosexual love story which in the end broke my heart. 

It was so interesting the way it was written. The king was was waging a war with a super power but at the same time waging a war against a priory who the only thing they want to do is live their lives. 

The queen had the king murdered then went on to wage war against Kingsbridge by raising their taxes and just terrorizing these people. I was impressed with it all. She was so evil I couldn't stand it! (in a good way). The crazy monks and the dark and brooding knights--breath-taking.

The evil in this show came like a kick in the gut from ever direction and those you think are good end up being bad. There's is superstitions and another instant where religion blind people to what's truly important. 

Ken Follett and the crew did an amazing job on this show. I was very impressed with it. I've watched all the episodes and it brought out in me some emotions a TV show should always manage to. It was of high caliber.  The season finale was heart-wrenching but brilliant. 

The one downside is I would have liked more people to remain alive because it seemed they killed the whole cast in the end. I am not sure if that means WORLD WITHOUT END is not coming back for a second season or what the deal was but the cast was completely destroyed in the last two episodes--from the plague, one guy got stabbed in the neck, another one got killed by a kid with a bow and arrow, one got beheaded--and the hits kept right on coming. 

The uncertainty of what is coming next or rather, what's not coming next is a horrid way to end a series. But I really can't complain. Now I'm heading out tomorrow after work to see if I can find the Ken Follett book that goes with it.

Check out this TV show.


Monday, October 22, 2012

Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Simon Pegg, Leonard Nimoy, Eric Bana, Karl Urban, Zoe Saldana, John Cho, Anton Yelchin, Tyler Perry, Bruce Greenwood, Chris Hemsworth
The brash James T. Kirk tries to live up to his father's legacy with Mr. Spock keeping him in check as a vengeful, time-traveling Romulan creates black holes to destroy the Federation one planet at a time.
The moment I heard the news they were making a new trek movie I wanted to hit my head into a desk. I mean why mess with perfection? But knowing hollywood, they are not going to stop until they've screwed up all the classics.  Okay, so let me start off by saying I was never a fan of this movie and as long as I had to pay to watch it I would refuse to watch it. I have person issues with the casting of this movie as well as some others but that is a completely different issue all together. So one night I was home and SHOWCASE was on its blockbuster movie trip and I saw it.
Don't get me wrong, I still believe this movie should not have been made first because they needed some writers who had at least SOME inkling of the Star Trek history and what Gene had in mind when he created this breath-taking masterpiece.  There were so many holes in this movie I sat there, staring at the screen thinking--erm....
But to be honest, the graphics work and the jokes within the movie were none-stop and just perfect. One of my issue is the looks of the Romulan. I mean sure back in the day they were crude but that was the point. I don't think Gene meant for them to look like mutated fish without eyebrows.  I understand creative licensing. I really, really do....but the complete change of the Romulan physique was more than that--it was someone's attempt at re-writing trek.  Thank heavens they didn't seem fit to add a few klingons because then I'd be really mad as the Klingons are my absolute favorite species in the franchise.
And why was Tyler Perry in this movie? I am still confused as to what purpose he held. I mean, sure the character was necessary for the movie to work  and filled a gap, but Tyler Perry? The man's a genius and a major talent but not in Trek.
They really did try adding classic lines from the original but they were just flat and uncalled for.
All in all, this movie wasn't really my cup of tea - But the actors did what they could with what they were given. I especially love Anton Yelchin as Chekov was priceless and Zachary Quinto as Spock was somewhat refreshing.  I was somewhat disappointed however with the relationship between Spock and Uhura. I don't know I didn't feel a chemistry there--it was just as bad as Steven Segal in a sex scene.
Overall, it was good if you have no concept of trek or the history behind the characters and its place in TV history. If you are like me and you're a buff in TV may want to skip this one.
On a lighter note - Check out this installment of HISHE!

Thursday, October 18, 2012

Beauty and the Beast

Starring: Kristin Kreuk, Brian White, Max Brown, Austin Basis, Nina Lisandrello and Jay Ryan

When I first saw the previews for the new BEAUTY AND THE BEAST on SHOWCASE TV in Canada, I thought "here we go again. Another stupid, teenie bopper tv show about some lame vampires who glow in the sunlight" then "here we go again. Another over muscular teenie bopper tv show about an over muscular wolf."  

At first I thought I would never watch it. I mean I don't do vamps that glow in the sunlight or love sick wolves so why watch? But my curiosity got the better of me and I watched the first episode.
I was elated to see the BEAST (played by Jay Ryan) is NOT a vampire or a wolf. But was disappointed to see he's the equally cliche soldier who the military tested some DNA things on while he served in Iraq and now he has super powers. I mean come on--universal soldier anyone? But that's bad and not too bad. The first episode I watched I wasn't completely sold on the series so I decided to give it another try before I made up my mind.

 But the second episode didn't help any.

First let me start out with what I think works in this show.

Jay Park works. He is sexy--Which I know they were going for. He works for deep, dark and brooding. His anguish can be felt and the uncertainties he's feeling is real.

Nina Lisandrello works--kinda of. She works as the partner but you rarely ever see her. When she's on the screen I try my best to sit and watch her the way she carries herself that kind of thing. I wish she had more screen time.

Now what doesn't work. Okay where do I start?

Kristin Kreuk doesn't work. I think she's the biggest disappointment for me in this series. Sure she was good in Smallville but as a cop? I don't believe it. I cannot buy her waving a gun around and fighting bad guys. She's like, a chihuahua in a pound of pitbulls barking at them to show just how bad she can be but none of the pitbulls care because she's a chihuahua!  Her scowl is so epic-ly wrong I keep trying to fight to keep watching whenever she pulls her gun and gives an order. She's whiny and pushy and just--she isn't a good cop. Her character goes barging into places, screaming "POLICE!" as she enters. She keeps demanding that Beast help her find her mother's killer and over and over. She keeps saying "I need you to help me find out about my mother" over and over! I think I'm just going to re-watch the second episode and count how many times she says that. It's like getting whacked over the head with it. I mean, I know these characters are supposed to be in your face and all that. They're supposed to be strong and go for what they want but she is almost too much of that.  She can't take no for an answer--and by no for an answer I mean no for now then try again later or bide her time.

The casting director(s) expect(s) us to believe Brian White as a police captain of a precinct. I mean, really? Who was in charge of the Casting this show? Perhaps they were trying to do the token visible minority or something else but Brian White does not work as the head of a precinct. He looks too young and what is with the porn star mustache?

Then the writers of this show expects us to believe that her partner is going to just let it go that she's been acting weird lately. That I could get--but then they expect us to believe that a partner would let her partner keeps on chasing the bad guy alone while she mope around on a roof with the beast while her partner chases a suspected killer who tossed his victim off a roof! I mean come on! We'v been led to believe partners have each other's backs and when they are chasing a bad guy, one partner doesn't go off to grill her potential love interest over who killed her mother!

There's a time and place for everything.

I'm not going to mention any other characters because quite frankly what's the point? You rarely ever see them. All you see is Kristin Kreuk's character haul-assing around the place playing cop and the others just shows up when she needs something. Half the time she's walking around with this soap-opera-esque expression on her face like someone told her they were her dead sister's child uncle's brother's cousin twice removed who had amnesia for ten years and is just coming back from the dead.


The relationship between beauty and her beast his progressing too fast. It's almost as though they know the story will be over soon so they are pushing it hard and fast. They are too close for just the second episode and he looks at her like a lost puppy.

In the first episode it didn't say anything about a sister but all of a sudden in the second episode WHAM there's a sister who's the exact image of every spoiled brat you've ever seen. And then every time she's in a bad spot, here comes the beast to protect her! I mean talk about a push back to fighting for women's rights. She's perfectly capable of being a cop just not capable of protecting herself or getting out of tight spots by herself. And she's always alone--its like her partner is just there like Danno from Hawaii 5-0. You know, when the other guy captures the bad guy he hands him over and said "Book him Danno" and all is right with the world.

How positively upsetting.

Then her cases - they gets wrapped up so neatly and so conveniently I want to laugh at the way they get their evidence and how they work it.

There are some serious issues with whoever is writing the scripts for this show. I don't know if its because they're all men or if its because they just don't care or don't know what they're doing but I expected so much more from the CW. I mean they are the same guys who was running One Tree Hill and Gossip Girl! How can they go so horribly wrong with this one?

I'll keep watching whenever Nina is on the screen or when the Beast is doing something beastly but anything else I'm changing the channel. Don't know how long this one will last.

Sunday, June 17, 2012

Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted

Title: Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted
Starring: Chris Rock, Jada Pinkette-Smith, Ben Stiller, David Schwimmer. Shacha Baron Cohen, Cedric The Entertainer, Tom McGrath, Frances McDormand, Martin Short, Bryan Cranston, Jessica Chastain, Chris Miller

Blurb: Alex, Marty, Gloria and Melman are still fighting to get home to their beloved Big Apple. Their journey takes them through Europe where they find the perfect cover: a traveling circus, which they reinvent - Madagascar style.

Wow...okay. Where do I begin? When I heard they were making another one of these movies I wanted to head a desk. I mean really? Did they REALLY need another Madagascar? But even at the ripe old age of 28, I am still a HUGE fan of Penquins of Madagascar on YTV so I figured, if it has the penquins in it, it HAS to be good.  So because I haven't spent much time with my niece because of school, work, trying to have a social life and trying to figure out my life and all that good stuff, I figured she loved Kunfu Panda so why not take her to see this?  So after school for both of us, we got all dressed and ran to the movie theatres.  We didn't get to see it in 3D because traffic was horrible so we missed the 3D one and didn't want to stick around the theatre/mall for three hours waiting for the other showing.  We saw the regular one but we had a blast.

This movie his hilarious!

You have to understand, you put Chris Rock, Ben Stiller, Sacha Baron Cohen and Cedric the Entertainer in one place and you laugh until your sides hurt. Then add David Schwimmer (who normally I dont find funny at all but in this he is so funny) and Jada Pinkette Smith and I laughed so hard I thought I was going to suffocate. Frances was amazing as the bad guy and every time she shows up on the screen you have to laugh.  Then King Julien, oh man that Ring tail slays me every time with his ecotistic self.

The penquins....ooh the penquins. What can I say about them? They are their same trouble making, hilarious, military driven selves.

You know I couldn't end this without talking about the Afro Polka Dot Circus song.  Chris Rock - Mary is the ONLY character/actor who could have pulled that off and make you laugh no matter how many times you heard. Then someone remixed it with "I Like to Move" so it's Marty and King Julien rocking out to the remix.

Bottom line, this movie is worth the price of admission. And the kids in the movie theatre were laughing so hard, I had to laugh. It's a good movie for the children and the adults. Most movies like this they managed to alienate the parents to cater to only the children not thinking kids that age must have an adult with them. But this movie has a little bit of everything and the parents were laughing. At one point, something happen (involves Julien) and all the parents burst out laughing. All the kids were looking around going "what? what'd we miss??" it was epic!


Monday, May 21, 2012

Clash of the Titans

Title: Clash of the Titans
Starring: Sam Worthinton, Liam Neeson, Ralph Fiennes
Blurb: Perseus, mortal son of Zeus, battles the minions of the underworld to stop them from conquering the Earth and the heavens.

My Review:
Let me first say that I am NOT a Sam Worthington fan and the only reason I saw this movie was in three folds--One, its a mythology story, two Liam Neeson is in it and three it was on TV for free.

So I wouldn't go as far as to say they shouldn't have made this remake.  Let me start by saying when it comes to mythology, be it Indian, Greek, Roman, Chinese--whatever, I ADORE it all.  This movie wasn't the best, not by a long shot, but it's not the worse remake or movie either. I mean, WATERWORLD, there's the worse movie ever made lol.

Ok, so Perseus finds out he's the half sun of Zeus and the reason he came about was from rape and and all that jazz. The action was good, the soundtrack immaculate, the acting, left little to be desired. What I couldn't stand was the fact that they put a Djinn in it. I mean wtf? A genie? Was there any Genie in mythology?  I mean I get they were taking creative license but I mean shit--they explained it that its a group of warriors cursed to always be soldiers but that makes no sense. If you're going to call them something why Djinn? Anyways that was my only beef with it. all in all it was an okay movie for what it was worth. Sam in a dress was kinda sexy.


Sunday, February 5, 2012

G.I Joe: Rise of the Cobra

Title: G.I Joe: Rise of the Cobra
Starring: Channing Tatum, Marlon Wayans, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Christopher Eccleston, Byung-hun Lee, Dennis Quaid, Sienne Miller, Ray Park, Joseph Gordon-Levitt

Blurb: Two soldiers stationed in Kazahkstan (Captain Duke Hauser and his partner "Ripcord") are ordered to transport special warheads created by MARS, an arms' manufacturer controlled by James McCullen. When they are attacked by thieves they are saved by a top secret, international special forces. Duke and Ripcord must prove that they are Real American Heroes -- by stopping the launch of these warheads before Cobra uses them to take over the world.

Review:  Ok, I can't say I am completely in love with this movie...I mean I was in love with idea of them making it and with Byung and Ray Park being in it but other than that I wasn't very impressed--wait Marlon Wayans as Rip Cord was a good choice but there are tons of other actors they could have used for General Hawk--I mean Dennis Quaid? Really?

The story leaves little to be desired. I mean what the hell is up with all the damn flash backs? Did there really need to be THAT many of them? And why is the first movie not about Snake Eyes and Storm Shadow? Did we REALLY need another omg-some-crazy-zealout-stole-some-war-heads-now-they're-gunna-blow-us-all-up story line? I mean seariously...I don't really care about Duke as much in this movie. I just sat there praying, waiting, craving for when I got to see Snake Eyes again. This movie, it's like he didn't even exist. I mean WTF?

*breathes* Ok so I was totally in love with Rip Cord played by Marlon Wayans. His character was a fun fly boy who has his friend's back no matter what and is down to earth, funny, handsome, bad ass, brave--perfect. I love Heavy Duty...but what was the point of Joseph Gordon Levitt in this movie?? I mean who writes this crap?  I saw him and thought--here we go *rolls eyes* The saving grace for me is Rip Cord and Snake Eyes, though you rarely ever see him. There are a few parts where I had to laugh out loud and other parts I bashed my head into the pillow asking WHY? If yo're home on a lazy day, blizzard outside and you want something to pass the time then pick this one up. Otherwise don't tarnish your child hood G.I Joe memories with this.

I don't know if I'm going to see part 2.